• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting dividends with unpaid shares?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting dividends with unpaid shares?

Hello all,

I'm a contractor with a small limited (sole owner),
    I gave myself 5k of dividends in the previous tax year, with the following Statement of Capital submitted in the Confirmation Statement (didn't change from incorporation):

Statement of Capital (Share Capital)
    - Class of Shares: Ordinary
    - Number allotted: 1
    - Aggregate nomial value: 1

Statement of Capital (Totals)
    - Total number of shares: 1
    - Total aggregate nominal value: 1
    - Total aggregate amount unpaid: 1
    I just learned I actually needed to issue a dividend voucher, but that seem to indicate I needed to have that share paid in order to be able to receive dividends.
    The question is simple: Was the dividend incorrectly distributed? If so, how can I correct this?

I've looked at 15+ threads trying to find an answer with no luck, so apologies if the answer is somehow obvious :/

What does the next page after the one you quote from say?

The section you have quoted is the Statement of Capital (Share Capital) page, but the next page should be headed "Initial Shareholdings" which details who actually owns the shares that have been issued.

If you aren't listed as a share holder then you cannot be a recipient of dividends - you'll either need to fudge the books or correct this as income rather than dividend.