• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK contractor in Belgium - VAT question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello Everyone

This is my first time posting, but I've actually been following this site for many years.

I have a Uk limited company that is VAT registered. The limited company has a euros business and sterling account.

I have just started a contract in Belgium.

My daily rate is in Euros.

The agency, through which I have this contract and to whom I have to invoice to get paid, have asked me to add VAT to my invoice. They are also VAT registered. Well, in Belgium, VAT is known as TVA, So they are TVA registered.

No doubt I have to charge 21% TVA to my invoices. Is that right??

(TVA in Belgium is currently at 21%)

The agency explained that they confirmed this with their legal and accounts team, and it's not only above board, but it's a typical scenario with other contractors from the UK.

Can you confirm this is OK? My accountant says to not charge vat or to use since reverse charge mechanism.

I'm concerned as I enjoy charging VAT. It's 21% extra revenue. Well not just that, but I travel every weekend to the UK. I incur huge costs to work here.

Will I not lose out with this reverse charge scheme?

What do you all do??

Many thanks
    Certified Pro.

Originally posted by Certifiedpro View Post
    I'm concerned as I enjoy charging VAT. It's 21% extra revenue. Well not just that, but I travel every weekend to the UK. I incur huge costs to work here.