• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expensing a holiday

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expensing a holiday

In addition to being a contractor, i am also a freelance writer - short fiction, and the kind- all under the same Ltd company.

i was wondering if i can expense a holiday - undertaken for research.

Nope - duality of purpose
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

You can certainly expense it. If your accountant allows it(unlikely), then HMRC will conduct a full company internal cavity search. Without lube. It will end very badly. Don't do it.

Comment

You can expense a research trip. You can't expense a holiday taken to do research. If HMRC think your research trip was actually a holiday, then they will disallow your expense.
        Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

The fact you refer to it as a holiday means even if there is some other legit business purpose, there is clear duality of purpose.

Comment

I have expensed flights to places I had interviews or where arranged business meetings where I wanted to explore possible contract opportunities, however I also stayed at that country for a few more days exploring ... so arrange for a few interviews or business meeting where you are going??

I have a friend in Norway (I know different laws) but also does the same, arranges some business meetings, or conferences, then spends a few more days with me and we both do some trips in the UK.

Comment

Originally posted by coolpixel View Post