• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension Advice - new contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension Advice - new contractor

Hi, I am in my first year of contracting and looking to put some money into a company pension, rather than a personal stakeholder pension.

Can anyone make any recommendations on any good finance companies/schemes to approach, and any gotchas I should watch out for?

Thanks

A SIPP can be a company pension.

In other words your company can make employer contributions into it.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Thanks SueEllen, so can I open a SIPP and put (almost) nothing in it personally, then the company can pay in up to £40K as a cost before company tax?

Comment

If you look above in the Accounting forum, you'll see a "sticky" thread near the top: http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...d-company.html

On the fourth page, cojak put a comment with links to other useful threads as well.

As many Pension questions as keep popping up here, a case could be made that having a Pension subforum under accounting might be a good idea. Same with mortgages. People would be more likely to find their answers without asking the same question that has been asked a million times before.

Comment

Get some advice from an IFA as a starting point - they normally offer an initial meeting for free.

Comment

Thanks everyone - I suspected there would be a thread already somewhere... thanks for the pointers.

Comment

Originally posted by SenorMark View Post