• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Uk contractor based in Switzerland

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Uk contractor based in Switzerland

Hi all,

I'm new to contracting and am about to take my first role. Its a rolling 6 month contract working full time in Switzerland however I will be paid in the UK in GBP.
    I obviously intend to set up my own Ltd co but I am not sure on the implications for paying any tax in Switzerland. I own a residential and rental property in the UK also.

Does anyone have any similar experience and can offer any advice here?

Adam

Originally posted by Adam1975 View Post
    Hi all,

I'm new to contracting and am about to take my first role. Its a rolling 6 month contract working full time in Switzerland however I will be paid in the UK in GBP.
    I obviously intend to set up my own Ltd co but I am not sure on the implications for paying any tax in Switzerland. I own a residential and rental property in the UK also.

Does anyone have any similar experience and can offer any advice here?

Adam
    You will pay tax in both countries and most likely go via local payroll in CH

Comment

You can't work in Switzerland and be paid in GBP in the UK. You must have a work permit (a formality for EU citizens), and be paid in Switzerland and have Swiss taxes deducted. If you remain resident in the UK for tax purposes (which can be quite complicated), any tax paid in Switzerland will be deducted from your UK tax bill. Or vice versa, but that's unlikely.