• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Recruitment Agency Not Paying Invoice after 2 months, what to do?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recruitment Agency Not Paying Invoice after 2 months, what to do?

Hi, I'm an IT contractor who was working for a client via a recruitment agency. I'm working under my own limited company. The client would pay the agency and the agency would take their cut and then pay me. However for the final invoice which was just shy of £7k, the client paid the agency for my work but the agency never paid me.

It turns out they used that money to pay for their own legal fees for a completely unrelated court case. This invoice was due to be paid on 01/12/16 so currently its around 2 months late. One of the directors at the agency emailed me in December to say they would be paying me the full amount of the invoice by 28th Feb. I then replied asking if he would agree to pay me my monthly accountancy fees for every month that the invoice remains unpaid and he responded in agreement. The problem is that for various reasons I don't trust that they are making an effort to pay me back by 28th.

So my question is, given that the director has told me he will pay me by the 28th Feb, is it still possible to take legal action against them using a solicitor? i.e. sending a letter-before-action or something similar.

Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers