• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting - Accounts in a mess. Do i need a bookkeeper?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting - Accounts in a mess. Do i need a bookkeeper?

Hi

I am an IT contractor, one man band. My first Ltd contracting job. Previously i have worked under an Umbrella which was straight forward enough.

I've been ltd for almost 24 months.

During this time i was an idiot and was dealing with a gambling problem. (Clean for 8+ Months now)

I ended up withdrawing from the Business Bank to fund my habit (stupid ****)

I have pretty much neglected my accounts and have mismanaged them since. I don't know how to go about putting things right. Currently I withdraw 1-2k every couple of weeks without any bookkeeping to pay bills/food/rent. Roughly i should be withdrawing £2k every 4 months.

I have an accountant who i pay around £80 per month. He sorts out my VAT return and my payslips.

Other than that he hasn't really provided much input despite asking him directly how i can get my accounts back in order. His advice is not to worry and that it will be sorted eventually...

**What i want**

1) I want to go back to running my Ltd correctly. I.e withdrawing the dividend & wage
    2) I want to know how much i owe

Originally posted by liy316 View Post
    Hi

I am an IT contractor, one man band. My first Ltd contracting job. Previously i have worked under an Umbrella which was straight forward enough.

I've been ltd for almost 24 months.