• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Financial Spread betting, UK Tax, and HMRC. Advice please!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Financial Spread betting, UK Tax, and HMRC. Advice please!

Hi

Thanks, I would be grateful for some advice please, but first some info.

1. I am employed by my Ltd company doing civil engineering 5 days a week, 8hrs a day. It is my first year as a Contractor and like they all say I wish I had made the leap sooner. Anyway I have no intention of giving up my civil engineering job.

2. Any financial spread betting that I do will be part time, now and then when I have time, and it will have nothing to do with my Ltd company or any other Ltd company for that matter.

3. I am not a professional trader, have never done it for a living. I have dabbled in the past but not since being a Contractor.

Now on to my questions.

If I have some winnings from financial spread betting, hard to call them profits, do I need to declare them to HRMC as part of my self assessment? I am not sure what the answer it as in the past I have never declared Grand National winnings or fruit machine winnings. However I accept this could be different, for one thing the sums involved are likely to be much larger, and secondly I accept it is not quite the same as horse racing. Or maybe it is legally, i.e. gambling is gambling.

And for arguments sake, say I do have to declare the winnings to HMRC, do HMRC take a look, wish me well and that's the end of it? Or do HMRC decide they are entitled to a slice?

Thanks!