• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accounting Fees...Too much?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accounting Fees...Too much?

Hi, I have a question about accounting fees as the one I'm with seems to be charging an extortionate amount.

I'm an IT contractor and I switched from an umbrella company to going LTD in August after being talked into going with their LTD service, earn £100 week extra etc. I'm paying £145 per month for a full accounting service and as my contract comes to an end at the end of December I intend to close the company, they have told me that they will charge me £750 to do this. So I'm going to have paid a total of £1475 for 6 months of accounting work.

They will also charge me £260 just to leave them.

Is this too much or pretty standard?

P.S. I know now that setting up a LTD company for just 6 months was a stupid idea but went on the advice of the accountants.

Why are you closing the LTD, are you going perm? £100 a month would be about average for fees.
    Last edited by Major Hassle; 28 September 2016, 07:27.
    "why ride a vespa when you can push a lambretta?"

As I look ahead, I am filled with foreboding; like the Roman, I seem to see "the River Tiber foaming with much blood."

Comment

If you continue contracting, I can recommend a FreeAgent accountant that I am happy with who charges GBP 49 per month +VAT and no hidden charges. Yes, you are being royally ripped off. Please name and shame.
      Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.