• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT on expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT on expenses

Newbie here, Ltd Company, VAT registered. Recently had to work late hours and took cab home. Cab cost had no VAT added, and I paid it.

I've invoiced this back to my client, but added VAT. Is this correct, found guidance online which implied yes. What have others done?

Hi,

Presuming you are on the flat rate scheme then yes, that would be correct to add VAT on top of the cost.

Doing this ensures that you are not left out of pocket when it comes to the VAT return.

You should really look at any expense incurred as part of the service you are providing.

Comment

Surely vat should be added irrespective of whether you are on the flat rate scheme

Comment

Originally posted by fidot View Post
        Surely vat should be added irrespective of whether you are on the flat rate scheme
        Agreed - you are invoicing for yourCo's service and the expenses incurred in providing it. So if you're registered for VAT, VAT must be added.

It won't 'cost' your client any extra as they will reclaim the VAT.

Comment

Originally posted by mudskipper View Post
          Agreed - you are invoicing for yourCo's service and the expenses incurred in providing it. So if you're registered for VAT, VAT must be added.

It won't 'cost' your client any extra as they will reclaim the VAT.
          Not the case if they, the client, are in finance, or the insurance business to take a couple of examples?