• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client claims to have run out of money! Where do I stand?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client claims to have run out of money! Where do I stand?

I'm having an issue with one of my public sector clients I've been working with for the past 5 months, they're claiming a previous manager messed up the Purchase Order when my contract was renewed, and they've now run out of budget to pay me. It get's a little more complicated as the team I'm working with moved departments in an organisation restructure. The "new" department has all sorts of cost saving targets they have to meet, and as a result management are having an issue with the higher ups {insert generic statement on public sector bureaucracy BS here}

My question is this, I have a 2 week notice period in my contract, the money runs out in a few days and I wanted to know who would be liable to pay out my notice period should the contract be terminated by either myself or the client. Would it be the client or Agency I'm working through?

Originally posted by LaunchpadBS View Post