• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor Mortgage potential problems?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor Mortgage potential problems?

Hi everyone,

I have been contracting for nearly three years now and looking to get a mortgage shortly but thinking of potential problems that may hinder the application process.

I have had gaps between each of my contracts over these 3 years and that's just been down to the time it has taken to secure new contracts. These gaps range between 1 to 3 months. I have recently secured a new contract for 6 months paying £325 daily. When I apply for the contractor mortgage do I mention the gaps over the 3 years of contracting or does that not matter as I have a new contract for 6 months?

My partner is permie and we would like to go forward for a joint application but her credit history is poor (has taken out pay day loans in the past) and has a few defaults. Would it be more beneficial for me to go for a contractor mortgage on my own? Obviously my partner would be helping with mortgage repayments but can some sort of contract be drawn up for this arrangement?

My deposit is £90,000 at the moment but looking to put down around £100000 to buy a £350000 new build home.

Any advice is appreciated and any recommendations for brokers please?

Thanks in advance!